Rant/Review: Stephen King’s “IT” (1990)

As many of you may know by one of my previous posts: I have Coulrophobia, which loosely translates to the fact that clowns scare me shitless. I’ll admit I haven’t always been afraid of clowns, but then again, I was never really exposed to them when I was younger. However, after I got older there were frightening images of demented men in makeup chasing after children like; Pennywise in IT, Twisty from American Horror Story, or even those assholes that ran around in clown costumes back in fall of 2016.

At 20 years old, I finally decided to pick up the thousand-plus page book and managed to make it to chapter nine. All eight chapters were a total of 390 pages. Not even half-way. This was my first Stephen King book and it won’t be my last, but holy hell this is a handful. The descriptions were written out fairly well, but boy did Stephen King, “the King of horror,” mentally jump around a lot. Timeline jumps were everywhere, The Losers Club and their shenanigans were a little too familiar for my liking, and you could definitely tell King was not sober in the making of this book. It took him four years to write, and it’ll take me four years to read.

After I finally made it to chapter nine, I decided to watch the old movie from the 1990s. Maybe it’s just because I love Tim Curry, or maybe it’s because I can handle older horror movies easier than I can with the newer ones. Either way, the disappointment I experienced was astonishing and the ending to this movie did not push me to want to finish the remaining 755 words.

As someone who did a lot of “research” on the approval ratings before I watched the film, I was crestfallen. The finale of this three-hour long, two-disc episode, was a gigantic letdown filled with mediocrity. Before I decided to jump into the “Constant Reader” world of Stephen King, I already knew that his way-of-writing was not for people who had a lot of time to do anything but read his novels. I, for one, took IT in at full-force until I got distracted by a 3,000 piece Harry Potter Aquarius puzzle.

Now before you decide to question why I might put this book down and never pick it back up, I already know that King approved the movie and how it was directed. The ending should primarily correlate with his novel, just like the first nine chapters did with the first hour-and-a-half of this movie.

While Tommy Lee Wallace is a renowned director in the older horror movie world, this movie did not live up to its full potential. However, it was not Wallace’s fault, at all. Due to the period in which this movie was made, they did what they could with the graphic components that were needed in the making. The timeline wasn’t anyone’s fault, much like The Evil Dead from the 80s, back then these movies were terrifying (or at least that’s what several people who were in their teens in the 80s has stated). It’s been twenty-seven years since Stephen King’s IT hit the theaters and     it took me twenty years to watch it.  Seven-year-old me would’ve more than likely been scared out of my mind, so I’ll admit I’m glad that I waited, but the inner critic in me says this movie will never be on my watch-list ever again.

This bourgeois work of fiction created by Stephen King and directed by Wallace had such a horrific ending. (There are SPOILERS ahead) so I’m going to go ahead and continue my rant on what exactly is going on in my brain about King’s little “plot twist.”

Today in the car I decided to “go off” to my friends about how irritating it is that King got away with this mediocre ending. Out of all the different ways of ending this novel/movie, Stephen “the King of horror”, chose to use a giant spider as the “bad guy.” PENNYWISE WAS A FRONT. You know, the one that’s printed on all of the books, shown off in memes, etc. Pennywise the clown. One of the main characters. Was just a giant freakin’ spider. BUT WAIT, there’s more. Not only is this spider “immortal”, it’s also capable of being killed by a group of forty-year-old men and a woman in a sewer. Out of all of the different things he could’ve chosen to use as the being behind Pennywise and The Loser Club’s nightmare… King chose a spider.

Honestly before anyone decides to make remarks, or think to themselves that I shouldn’t give up the book because books have more details than movies, trust me. I’ve already thought of this. As much as I want to push through the remaining 755 pages, I cannot force my brain to agree with the fact PENNYWISE IS A SPIDER. The writer inside me cannot believe that he got away with this complete and utter nonsense. Also, yes. Here I am criticizing one of the “greatest horror authors out there”, just by reading the first nine chapters of a book, watching a movie, and following him on every social media platform. As much as I wanted to get into King, I cannot believe I thought reading this book would help me overcome my fear. If anything, Tim Curry made Pennywise a hilarious piece of work if you watch the movie in today’s day and age.

Anyways. Now that I’ve put my opinion out into the world, I’ll end this post with somewhat of an apology. For those of you who read this that are obsessed with Stephen King, don’t hate me. Instead, take into consideration that maybe juuuuust maybe, this book was not as great as everyone originally thought it was. I loved the irony that he wrote this book “for the children” even though the dumbass spider/clown thing ate children, but I’ll admit I will be moving on to a different book. There are over 150 books on my shelves that I have not read yet (because trying to get through this book was preventing me from reading them), so I’m going to go back to my fictional world and leave this bourgeois piece of “horror” on my shelf to collect dust.

Leave a Reply

